Minecraft Enchantments

This article will tell you everything about Minecraft Enchantments, from how to enchant to what to enchant and some essential enchantments guides.

How Items can be Enchanted

In Minecraft, there are various tables/items through which you can do multiple things, one of these items is the Enchanting Table which is used to enchant your tools, weapons, and armor

To craft an Enchanting Table you will need to have the following things:

2 Diamonds

1 Book

4 Obsidian

Minecraft Enchanment - The Geek Atom

Place your Enchanting Table in an open location.

To enchant your items you need to have experience levels, and for enchanting your items you should at least be of Experience Level 1. You can get Experience Levels in a lot of different ways, one of the easiest ways to get Experience Levels is to wait for Night Time (in Minecraft) and to kill the mobs which spawn during nighttime. Example Zombies, Skeletons, Spiders, Creepers. You can also make an Experience Farms(this will be discussed in another article). Experience Levels can also be obtained by mining resources, breeding livestock, and smelting things in your furnace. If you were level five and did a level 3 enchant, you would go back to level 2. The better the enchantment, the more levels it takes. 

Minecraft Enchanment - The Geek Atom

You would need to have the following items for Enchanting:

  • Experience Levels
  • Lapis Lazuli 
  • Your desired tool/weapon/armor piece of choice

When you Right Click on the Enchanting table after placing it, you would be able to see a menu with 2 slots, out of which in one you have to place the item you want to enchant, and in the other you have to place Lapis Lazuli. (High concentration of Lapis Lazuli can be found while mining at Y Levels 17,18 and 19, you can check your Y Level by pressing F3 in-game)

Here is the picture of enchanting an item

To Obtain the enchantment you need to click on one of the 3 rows.

To receive higher-level enchantments you need to place Bookshelves in a 2 high 5×5 square with an opening for a door on one side and the Enchanting table in the center.

Read Also:  Top Best One Punch Man Characters (Ranked)
Minecraft Enchanment - The Geek Atom

All The Enchantments You can get in Minecraft

Universal Enchants

These enchantments can be applied to any armor/tool/weapon. 

Mending – Repairs the item when gaining XP orbs. (Max enchantment level: 1) 

Unbreaking – Increases item durability. (Max enchantment level: 3) 

Curse of Vanishing – Item destroyed upon death. (Max enchantment level: 1) 


Aqua Affinity – Increase the rate of underwater mining speed. (Max enchantment level: 1) 

Blast Protection – Reduces explosion damage and knockback. (Max enchantment level: 4) 

Curse of Binding – Items cannot be removed from armor slots unless the cause is death or breaking. (Max enchantment level: 1) 

Depth Strider – Increases underwater movement speed. (Max enchantment level: 3) 

Feather Falling – Reduces fall damage. (Max enchantment level: 4) 

Fire Protection – Reduces fire damage and burn time. (Max enchantment level: 4) 

Frost Walker – Changes the water source blocks beneath the player into frosted ice and prevents the player’s damage from standing on magma blocks. (Max enchantment level: 2) 

Projectile Protection – Reduces projectile damage. (Max enchantment level: 4) 

Protection – Reduces most types of damage by 4% for each level. (Max enchantment level: 2) 

Respiration – Extends underwater breathing time. (Max enchantment level: 3) 

Soul Speed – Increases walking speed on soul sand and soul soil. ((Max enchantment level: 3) 

Thorns – Reflects some of the damage taken when hit, at the cost of reducing durability. (Max enchantment level: 3) 

Melee Weapons

Bane of Arthropods – Increases damage and applies Slowness IV to arthropod mobs (spiders, cave spiders, silverfish, endermites, and bees). (Max enchantment level: 5) 

Read Also:  How To Make Green Dye In Minecraft & Its Uses

Channeling – Trident channels a bolt of lightning toward a hit entity. Functions only during thunderstorms and if the target is unobstructed by opaque blocks. (Max enchantment level: 1) 

Efficiency – When applied to an axe it increases the chance that the axe may stun a shield, with the base chance being 25% and a 5% increase for each level of efficiency. (Max enchantment level: 5) 

Fire Aspect – Sets target on fire. (Max enchantment level: 2) 

Looting – Increases amount of loot earned from mobs. (Max enchantment level: 3) 

Impaling – Trident deals additional damage to mobs that spawn naturally in the ocean. (Max enchantment level: 5) 

Knockback – Knocks back mobs away from you when hit. (Max enchantment level: 2) 

Sharpness – Increases weapon damage. (Max enchantment level: 5) 

Smite – Increases damage to undead mobs. (Max enchantment level: 3) 

Sweeping Edge – Increases sweeping attack damage. Available only in Java Edition (Max enchantment level: 3) 

Ranged Weapons

Flame – Arrows set targets on fire. (Max enchantment level: 1) 

Impaling – Trident deals additional damage to mobs that spawn naturally in the ocean. (Max enchantment level: 5) 

Infinity – Shooting with projectiles does not consume arrows. (Max enchantment level: 1) 

Loyalty – Trident returns after being thrown. Higher levels reduce the return time. (Max enchantment level: 3) 

Riptide – Trident launches player with itself when thrown. Functions only in water or rain. (Max enchantment level: 3) 

Multishot – Shoot 3 arrows at the cost of one; only one arrow can be recovered. (Max enchantment level: 1) 

Read Also:  How to get Katana in Minecraft Dungeons

Piercing – Arrows pass through multiple entities (Max enchantment level: 4) 

Power – Increases arrow damage. (Max enchantment level: 5) 

Punch – Increases arrow knockback. (Max enchantment level: 2) 

Quick Charge – Decreases crossbow charging time. (Max enchantment level: 3) 


Efficiency – Increases mining speed. (Max enchantment level: 5) 

Fortune – Increases certain item drop chances from blocks. (Max enchantment level: 3) 

Luck of the Sea – Increases rate of fishing rare loot (enchanting books, etc.)(Max enchantment level: 3) 

Lure – Decreases wait time until fish/junk/loot “bites” (Max enchantment level: 3) 

Silk Touch – Mined blocks will drop as blocks instead of breaking into other items/blocks. (Max enchantment level: 5) 

Essential Enchantments

For Tools



Silk Touch

For Melee Weapons



Sweeping Edge

Fire Aspect

For Armor


Depth Strider

Feather Falling


Aqua Affinity

Universal Enchants



To Get a Specific Enchant you can trade with the Librarian Villager, this will be discussed in another article.